Young talent time shines

November 29, 2016

Jack Risstrom, Pam Wells and Charlie Murdock at presentation for juniors.

John Fanning congratulated Jack Risstrom on his Saturday win.

Col Saunders and Mike Jeffers enjoy their Olympic Cup win.

Saturday’s stroke round, sponsored by John Fanning, was the first qualifying round for the Summer Cup.

The results were dominated by juniors: Matt Miller won A-grade with 71-4-67 and Jack Risstrom won B-grade with 99-32-67.

Miller birdied the second and ninth holes for 35 on the front nine and stormed home with birdies on the 17th and 18th for 36 on the back.

Risstrom was equally as impressive, breaking 100 for the first time.

The par threes were his specialty with a bogey on three, pars on six and nine and a birdie on 14.

It was hard to tell if the more senior golfers were delighted to have juniors coming through or concerned that the juniors would dominate presentations for years to come.

Terry O’Brien was runner-up in A-grade with 79-8-71 and Jody Webber was runner-up in B-grade with 91-23-68.

In the ball rundown, Yerly Vasquez had 69, Dan Miller 71, Bob Oliver, Anthony Devine and Bruce Gross 72, Jeff Huddle and John Fanning 73 and Les Walsh 74 on a countback.

Frank Hill won NTP on the third, sponsored by Lewis Homes, Brad Deane won on the sixth (Tatura Post Office), Jack Risstrom won on the 14th (A-1 Freight), while Matt Miller rounded off a great day with NTP on the ninth (Tatura Engineering) and also won the jackpot.

Bev Roberts won the women’s competition with 71 off a 29 handicap, Jan Coe was runner-up with 73 and Lyn Fanning won a ball for her 74. Bev Roberts won NTP on the ninth and Jan Coe won on the 14th.

Olympic Cup

Col Saunders and Mick Jeffers defeated Ron Popple and Clive Merrigan 7-5 in the final played on Saturday.

Mick Jeffers belied his 34 handicap by playing straight and long, winning the first, second and third holes, the sixth, ninth, 10th, 11th and 13th thus shutting his opponents out of the game.

Popple and Merrigan have played these competitions successfully in recent years, but were shown no mercy by the burly duo who savoured their win. While it was Saunders who got them into the final with a win over Hill and Baker, it was Jeffers’ turn to take control for a deserved win.


A presentation lunch for the junior development squad was on Sunday with Jack Risstrom receiving the most improved award that was made available, and presented by, Pam Wells.

Elaine Dunk and Julie Gregg coached the squad during the year and were pleased with the progress the youngsters had made.


Rain on Tuesday prevented a competition and the American foursomes seemed to show little appeal on Thursday.

Barry Dennis continued on his winning way, pairing with Bob Wildes to win the day with a nett 70.

John Freudenstein and Col Barlow were runners-up with 70.625, while Ron Popple and Clive Merrigan won a ball apiece for their 70.875.


This is the most successful golfing format lately and 62 turned up to play on Thursday with Daniel Dryden winning with 43-18-25.

Darren Carter won NTP, Shayne Young won the meat raffle and consolation balls went to Sam De Ieso 30, Mark Peacoulakis and Trevor Wootton 31, Jan Coe 31 , Xavier Snell and Janet Leahy 32, Brady Bourke and Rocky Barca 32 , Lynda O’Shannesy 33, Kevin Gread and Brendan Ryan 33 , Geoff Coolahan 34, Mark Jenkins and Lee Warnett 34 .

Coming events

Tuesday’s competition is stableford, Thursday’s is stroke, but Friday at 10.30am there will be a special nine-hole event.

Hawthorn champion goal-kicker Jack Gunston will be playing with Pat Drury and members are invited to join in.

The second round for the Summer Cup will be played on Saturday with the December Monthly Medal also there for the taking.

Things get even bigger next day with Dave and Bev Roberts sponsoring and running the Rolling Pin Day, where teams of men compete with women for bragging rights for the next 12 months.

Golfers intending to play are asked to put their names on the list in the golf shop.

— Foozle

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text